2023 Tony Award Winners: List Update

Follow the latest updates and live photos from Tony Awards.

The 76th Tony Awards are taking place tonight at the United Mansion in Manhattan’s Washington Heights neighborhood. The awards ceremony, which honors plays and musicals that opened on Broadway between April 29, 2022 and April 27, 2023, is broadcast on CBS and streamed on Paramount Channel+. A special segment aired, hosted by Julianne Hough and Skyler Astin Pluto TV ahead of the main ceremony, during which a number of awards were announced, including Lifetime Achievement honors and Best Original Score.

This year’s award ceremony, which was nearly canceled amid the Writers Guild of America strike, will be presented without a script in an agreement reached with the union. (When a screenwriters’ strike last month threatened the broadcast, the playwrights banded together to save the telecast.) As a result, the show will continue, but the ceremony will forgo a dedicated opening number. Writers were also encouraged to pre-record their acceptance speeches.

Ariana DeBose, who is hosting the gala for the second year in a row, opened the night by explaining the strike, calling that she and every broadcaster would be banned from attending the evening. “To anyone who might think that the past year has been a bit dysfunctional, I say to them, ‘Dears, fasten your seatbelts,'” she said.

List of winners update below.

Brandon Uranowitz, “Leopoldstadt”

Miriam Silverman, “The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window”

Alex Newell, “Shucked”

Beowulf Burritt, “New York, New York”

Brigitte Riefenstweil, “Leopoldstadt”

See also  Jenna Ortega in talks to join 'Beetlejuice 2' - Variety

Greg Barnes, “Some Like It Hot”

Caroline Downing, “Life of Pi”

Nevin Steinberg, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Tim Lutkin, “Life of Pi”

Natasha Katz, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Joel Gray and John Kander

Jerry Mitchell

Pasadena Theatre

Jason Zimbuch Young

Lisa Dunn Cave, Victoria Bailey, and Robert Fried

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *